Tell us about yourself. Are you starting out, have you kept Leaf Cutters for a while, are you a researcher. Let the members know what your interests are.
ben31
Larva

Post by ben31 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:54 pm

hi there, im new to leafcutters but not ants, i keep various others including various carpenter species along with various reptiles and inverts, a marine tank, emus and a parrot, ohh ant 52 emu eggs currently in incubators.
i have just about sorted my setup
i have a 5 foot terrarium (doors on front allowing 5inch of water bellow the doors) with a fine mesh screen lid and an integrated hood with fittings for 2 lighting tubes
i have both water heaters and heat mat attatched to the external rear of the setup individualy thermostated so i can control both temperature and humidity ad found this to work and be very stable
the terrarium also has vent holes to both sides meaning i can use acrylic sheets to partly cover the mesh screen on the top to help with humidity
for a nest box i have both an 8inch 5 sided glass cube and a 8x8x10tall glass tank
i have 2 separate tables one for feeding at 8x 10 inch and a waste site at 8x8inch
i have various height platforms for the tables to sit on
im thinking the nest box to sit just above the waterline if not just into it
the feeding table about one inch above the water
and the wast table 6 inches above the water,
the reason for this is to give various levels more than anything for visual effect
i have various options for the bridging between nest and tables, these being java branches, artificial bendable reptile vine or other reptile wood and vine etc

if anybody could point out anything i am doing wrong that would be fantastic
also any advice on nest box substrate
what light tubes if any to use
and also which of my 2 nest boxes would be best suited